OUTDOOR LODGE GLEN SUTTON  
 
bear logo
1351 Vallée Missisquoi
Glen Sutton, Quebec
J0E 2K0
450.538.5816
info@outdoorlodge.ca

Mailing address
125 Bridge Road
Sutton, Quebec
J0E 2K0
Canada

     

Outdoor Lodge Glen Sutton

map

 Click here for printer friendly version

map

      Directions
 
By Car

US APPROACH FROM WEST, SOUTH

Exit Vermont Interstate 89 at 104 East (St. Albans). Turn right off 104E onto 105 East. Progress through Sheldon Springs, Enosburg Falls (Hannaford’s is your last source of liquor supplies before entering Canada and costs much less than in Canada), and Richford. Legal amounts per adult when crossing the border: 24 beer or 2 bottles of wine @750 mls. or 1 bottle of spirits, 40 oz. Once in Canada you are treated as a Canadian (no more liquor can be brought back into Canada if we cross the border on a day trip) for the duration of your stay. In Richford, stay on 105E (you must turn Right at the big, red brick church) then turn onto 105A and continue two miles to Canadian border. We are located approximately 3 miles straight ahead from the border in Glen Sutton. Our Lodge is the second building on the right hand side as you enter the village proper (large wraparound porch, white columns, red door, stone wall out front). Next door is the former Catholic Church, now a private home. You may park your car in the crushed stone area facing the main road or in the evergreen grove across the street from the Lodge. Side by side parking would be most appreciated.

US APPROACH FROM EAST, SOUTH

Leave Vermont Interstate 91 at Newport, last source for supplies (liquor, wine cheaper in U.S. but buy before entering Canada and see previous paragraph for amounts allowed) and continue on 105W following directions to North Troy. Pick up 243N to the Canadian border. After customs, proceed to Highwater, cross railway tracks as well as two bridges and take first left onto Chemin de la Vallee Missisquoi. After passing the village of Dunkin, you will soon arrive in Glen Sutton. As you enter the village, proceed straight on until you reach the former Catholic Church (our stoneclad neighbour and now a private residence) on the left hand side of the road.. The Outdoor Lodge is the next building (large wraparound porch, white columns, red door and stone wall out front). Please park as described above.

TRAVELING FROM MONTREAL VIA CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE OR FROM SHERBROOKE AND POINTS EAST

Take Autoroute 10 to the Cowansville/Granby/Sutton exit. Proceed to Cowansville, thence to Route 104. Continue on 104 to 139S and onwards to Sutton. Continue straight through town and follow signs to Glen Sutton. See two paragraphs above for our location in the village (second building on right in village proper). Please park as described two paragraphs above.

By Public Transportation

Planes, trains and buses pull into Montreal from all directions and at various times of the day and night. The Trudeau International Airport (Dorval) shuttle bus to downtown Montreal (about 45 minutes, approx. $12.40 one way if 65+, approx. $13.29 if 65-) runs about every half hour. The only link, by public transportation, from downtown Montreal to our area is by bus to the nearby town of Sutton, Quebec (one way fare approx. $18.43 if 60-, approx. $12.98 if 60+). We will gladly meet you in Sutton (complimentary shuttle) if we know your timing. The bus going to Montreal leaves Sutton at 6:30 and arrives in Montreal at 8:18. The second Sutton departure is at 14:16 arriving in Montreal at 16:05. The bus station in Montreal is called theVoyageur Bus Terminal (505 de Maisonneuve East, telephone 514-842-2281)

If overnighting in Montreal (before or after taking a bus to our site), a favoured basic hotel next to the bus station is the Comfort Hotel Taj Mahal, 1600 rue St. Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z3, (514-849-3214). Another nearby favorite is the Hotel Institute (hotel/culinary school), 3535 rue St. Denis, Montreal H2X 3P1 (514-282-5120 or 1-800-361-5111). Or check out www.bonjourquebec.com for the hospitality profile of every B+B/Hotel/etc. in the province. Most people traveling by bus take the weekend 9:30am departure from the Voyageur Terminus arriving in Sutton at 11:19. Upon notification, our free shuttle will meet your bus. A second bus (but you’ll be a bit late for supper) leaves Montreal at 5:30pm and arrives in Sutton at 7:19pm. The last bus (Sunday only) leaves Montreal at 9:15pm and arrives in Sutton at 11:04pm.

Planes also fly into Burlington International Airport, Vermont. Glen Sutton is approximately one hour and twenty minutes by rental car (there is no public link from Burlington to Glen Sutton). Some good deals into Burlington (plus car rental) can easily beat Montreal prices.

GÎTE DE PLEIN AIR GLEN SUTTON  
 
bear logo
1351 Vallée Missisquoi
Glen Sutton, Québec
J0E 2K0
450.538.5816
info@outdoorlodge.ca

Adresse postale
125 rue Bridge
Sutton, Québec
J0E 2K0
Canada

     
Outdoor Lodge Glen Sutton

map

 Cliquez ici pour un version pour imprimante.

map

      Indications routières
 
Par Auto

Des États-Unis, du sud et de l’ouest

Prenez la sortie 104 direction est sur l’autoroute 89 (St-Albans, Vermont). Tournez à droite en quittant la route 104 direction est jusqu’à la 105 direction est. Traversez Sheldon Springs, Enosburgh Falls et Richford. (Pour acheter des boissons alcoolisées, moins chères qu’au Canada, Hannaford est le dernier endroit pour faire vos provisions avant la frontière. Vous pouvez traverser avec 24 bières, 2 bouteilles de vin de 750ml ou une bouteille de liqueur de 40 onces. Par la suite, vous avez le même traitement qu’un Canadien, mais vous ne pouvez pas retraverser avec d’autre alcool dans la même journée). À Richford, restez sur la 105 direction est. Prenez à droite à l’église de briques rouges et tournez sur la 105A. Vous êtes alors à deux milles (3 km) de la frontière canadienne. Nous sommes situés à 5 km de la frontière à Glen Sutton. Notre maison est le deuxième bâtiment à droite en entrant dans le village (une large véranda, des colonnes blanches, une porte rouge et un mur de pierres sur le devant). Le bâtiment voisin est une ancienne église catholique transformée en résidence privée. Vous pouvez stationner votre voiture dans l’aire de gravier au bord de la route. Il y a aussi un stationnement en face, à l’intérieur d’un bosquet de conifères. Merci de placer votre véhicule de façon à laisser de l’espace aux autres voitures.

Des États-Unis, du sud et de l’est

Quitter l’autoroute 91 à Newport (dernière source d’approvisionnement pour les boissons alcoolisées moins chères aux États-Unis, voir précédemment pour les quantités permises à la frontière) et continuer sur la 105 direction ouest en suivant les indications pour North Troy. Prenez la route 243 direction nord à partir de la frontière canadienne. Dirigez-vous vers Highwater. Vous traverserez le chemin de fer, puis un premier pont et un deuxième à moins de 200 m. Tournez tout de suite à gauche sur le chemin de la Vallée Missisquoi et continuez tout droit jusqu’à Glen Sutton à 11 km (vous croiserez d’abord le petit hameau de Dunkin). Traversez un petit pont (ruisseau Courser) puis portez bien attention à l’ancienne église catholique toute en pierres (maintenant résidence privée). Notre maison est le prochain bâtiment (une large véranda, des colonnes blanches, une porte rouge et un mur de pierres sur le devant). Merci de stationner comme indiqué dans la partie précédente.

De Montréal via le pont Champlain ou de l’est, via Sherbrooke.

Prenez l’autoroute 10 jusqu’à la sortie Cowansville/Granby/Sutton (sortie 68). Prenez la direction de Cowansville et allez toujours tout droit. Vous arriverez à la route 104 direction est. Continuez sur cette route et tournez à droite en direction de Sutton sur la 139 sud. Allez encore tout droit à travers Sutton et suivez les indications pour Glen Sutton. Consultez la partie «Des États-Unis, du sud et de l’ouest» pour repérer notre maison quand vous arriverez (deuxième bâtiment à droite en entrant à Glen Sutton). Merci de stationner comme indiqué précédemment.

Par transport en commun

Vous pouvez vous rendre à Montréal en avion, en train ou en autobus. Les arrivées sont fréquentes à toute heure du jour et de la nuit. Des navettes partent aux demi-heures pour relier l’aéroport international Trudeau (Dorval) et le centre-ville de Montréal (45 minutes de trajet, 13$ environ pour les 65 ans et plus et 14 $ pour les moins de 65 ans). Pour se rendre à Glen Sutton de Montréal, il y a une seule liaison de transport collectif. Vous devez prendre l’autobus jusqu’à Sutton (autour de 20 $ pour les moins de 60 ans et 13 $ environ pour les plus de 60 ans). Nous serons heureux d’aller vous chercher à Sutton (gracieuseté de la maison) si nous connaissons votre horaire. Vous devez prendre l’autobus à Montréal au terminus Voyageur situé au 505 Est, de Maisonneuve. Tél. : 514-842-2281.

Si vous devez passer la nuit à Montréal (avant ou après un séjour chez nous), nous vous suggérons le Comfort Hôtel Taj Mahal, un hôtel de qualité correcte qui se trouve à côté du terminus (1600 rue St-Hubert, Montréal, Québec H2L 3Z3 tél : 514-849-3214). Nous vous recommandons aussi l’hôtel de l’Institut d’hôtellerie (3535 rue St-Denis, Montreal, Québec H2X 3P1 tél : 514-282-5120 ou 1-800-361-5111) Ou vous pouvez consulter le site www.bonjourquebec.com fpour connaître le profil des lieux d’hébergement de la province. La plupart des gens prennent l’autobus qui part de Montréal à 9 h 30 la fin de semaine et arrive vers 11 h 20 à Sutton. Il y a un autre départ de Montréal à 17 h 30 avec une arrivée à 19 h 20 (vous arriverez un peu tard pour le souper). Le dernier autobus (dimanche seulement) part de Montréal à 21 h 15 et arrive à Sutton à 23 h 04.

Il y a aussi plusieurs liaisons aériennes avec Burlington, au Vermont, qui se trouve à environ une heure et demie de route de Glen Sutton. Ces vols peuvent être beaucoup moins chers que ceux à destination de Montréal,et plus avantageux même en tenant compte du prix de location d’une voiture (il n’y a pas de service de transport collectif en provenance de Burlington vers notre région).